To obtain a gun permit in Indiana, you must meet the following criteria:
You must be 18 years of age.
You must be a resident of Indiana.
The initial application must be filled out in person at the Decatur County Sheriff's Department.
You may appear at the sheriff’s department during business hours to apply.
You will need to bring your driver’s license or state identification and previous handgun license, if applicable.
The sheriff’s department will fill out the application and take your fingerprints at this time.
Lifetime Personal Protection Permits are as follows: With a current license - $40.00 / Without a current license - $50.00.
You will be also be responsible for sending the application in to the state.
Personal Protection Permit: $30.00 money order or certified check payable to, State of Indiana.
Lifetime Personal Protection Permit: (with no current license) $75.00 money order or certified check payable to, State of Indiana. (With a current license) $60.00 money order or certified check payable to, State of Indiana.
Hunting and Target Permit: $5.00 money order or certified check payable to, State of Indiana.
Two (2) postage stamps are required (due to size of envelope).
Both (Hunting and Personal Protection) Permits are good for the period of Four (4) years.
The Personal Protection Permit will cover hunting also, however, if you only apply for a Hunting Permit, you will not be permitted to carry your weapon off of your own property.
If you live inside any town limits with a Town Marshal, (i.e. Westport, St. Paul, Milhousen, etc.), you must apply through the Town Marshal’s Office.
Did you know…?
Indiana law, I.C. 35-47-2-1 requires a license ( handgun permit) for any person who is carrying a handgun, except as provided in I.C. 35-47-2-2.
A permit is needed when carrying a handgun on or about your person, including inside of your vehicle.
A permit is not needed to carry a handgun inside the person’s dwelling or on his property of fixed place of business.
If a permit is needed while you are carrying the handgun, you need the permit in your possession.
An Indiana handgun permit is recognized in Michigan, if you are an Indiana resident.
A Michigan handgun permit is recognized in Indiana, if you are a Michigan resident.
I.C. 35-47-2-21(b) says "Licenses to carry handguns, issued by other states or foreign countries, will be recognized according to the terms thereof but only while the holders are not residents of Indiana."
The law allows the carry of the handgun concealed or in the open. However, it is recommended that prudence and safety always be followed when carrying any firearm.
If you are carrying a firearm and are challenged by a law enforcement officer, you should always obey every command. Remember, the officer does not know whether you intend to harm or not.
Effective July 1, 2001, IC 35-47-2-3 is amended to require that if the holder of the valid license (permit) to carry a handgun changes their name or address, the person must notify the superintendent of state police in writing within sixty (60) days of the change.
You cannot renew your gun permit prior to 30 days before the permit expires.
That 1 in 15 Indiana residents has a permit for a gun. According to the Indianapolis Star, Indiana ranks second in the country for the number of permits. New York state is first.